Skip to main content

About Healthcare Districts

We are proud members of the Association of California Healthcare Districts (ACHD.)


ACHD: Association of California Healthcare Districts logo

According to the Association of California Healthcare Districts:

"California Healthcare Districts respond to the specialized health needs of California communities. Voters created 76 Healthcare Districts to fulfill local health care needs. Of these, 54 serve the state's rural areas. Healthcare Districts provide access to essential health services and are directly accountable at the community level. As a result, tens of millions of Californians have been able to access care that would otherwise be out of reach."


The definition of a healthcare district, according to ACHD, is as follows:

“Healthcare districts are public entities that provide community-based health care services to residents throughout the state. They respond to the needs in their district by providing a range of services, which may include a hospital, clinic, skilled nursing facility or emergency medical services; as well as education and wellness programs.  Each of California's healthcare districts is governed by a locally elected Board of Trustees who are directly accountable to the communities they serve.” 

Learn more about Healthcare Districts here.

Visit the Association of California Healthcare Districts site here.

Join our mailing list